top of page

About Us

Board Members

Christopher Bonner, Communications Director, is a journalist, Pulitzer Prize nominee and communications expert with more than 50 years’ experience. He is a member of the board of the conservation group Citizens for Fauquier County.


Eileen Burgwyn, EdD, Co-Chair of Learning Starts Early, is a retired Fauquier County Public Schools teacher and administrator with 41 years of experience in public schools. Dr. Burgwyn was the Supervisor of English and Reading and Title I and has worked with programs for at-risk populations. In addition to her work with LSE, she also serves on the board of Fauquier Excellence in Education.


Robert Dart, M.D. shares responsibilities as Co-Chair of Learning Starts Early. Dr. Dart’s interest in children’s readiness for kindergarten is a direct result of his thirty-three years of medical practice in Fauquier County and his involvement in organizations benefiting citizens of the county. 


Maria Del Rosso  Treasurer, is the director of the Fauquier Public Library with over 40 years experience working in public libraries. Having started her career as a children’s librarian, she is an advocate for early childhood education, especially the importance of reading readiness.

Ms. Stacey Irvin became the Head of School at Saint James’ Episcopal School in 2008. Prior to her work at Saint James’, Stacey taught in the Fauquier County Public School system and served on the Saint James’ Episcopal School Board of Trustees. She has led numerous accreditation team visits with the Virginia Association of Independent Schools (VAIS) and currently serves as a Director-at-Large on the VAIS Board of Directors. 


The Rev. Benjamin W. Maas is an Episcopal priest in his 18th year of ordained ministry and in his 8th year as rector and chaplain for Saint James' Episcopal Church and School.  He has been involved with LSE since its inception and has served as a weekly reader for the Head Start program.

bottom of page